Our Board

The NHVR Board, established under section 662 of the HVNL, comprises five members appointed by the Queensland Minister on the unanimous recommendation of the responsible Ministers.

The Board’s functions include:

  • deciding the NHVR’s policies (subject to any directions of the responsible Ministers)
  • ensuring the NHVR exercises its functions in a proper, effective and efficient way.
NHVR Board

Duncan Gay, Chairman

Duncan was previously New South Wales Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight, and Leader of the Government in the New South Wales Legislative Council.

As Minister, he championed significant positive change to the safety and productivity of the heavy vehicle sector, enabling New South Wales transport operators and local businesses to catch up with the rest of the country and, in many cases, lead reform of road freight improvements for the benefit of the industry, broader community and, in turn, the national economy. 

He understood the importance of working closely with freight supply chain partners to deliver tangible outcomes, particularly for regional and rural New South Wales, and was responsible for vastly increasing access to local freight networks and giving a strong focus to adopting a respectful culture in roadside heavy vehicle safety and compliance interactions.

Duncan is a Director of Essential Energy, ARC Asia-Pacific RPAS Consortium, the Bush Children’s Education Foundation of NSW and the Sir Earle Page Memorial Trust, and an Executive Advisor of the MU Group.

Julie Russell, Deputy Chair

Julie is a Director and third-generation family member of Queensland-based Russell Transport.  She has worked both within her family business and in large multinational corporations across roles in risk and compliance, human resources, industrial relations, technology and strategic planning. 

She has served on numerous committees and boards to provide a medium-sized family-business perspective to road reform and policy proposals, training and workforce planning frameworks, and industry awareness programs. She is currently President of the Queensland Trucking Association and a Board Member and Chair of the Skills and Workforce Committee of the Australian Trucking Association.

Julie was named Queensland Trucking Association Woman of the Year in 2014 and National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year in 2015.

Julie Russell

Ken Lay AO APM

Ken is the former Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police, where he held a number of positions from 1974. He has extensive networks within all levels of government and the broader community.

He is Chair of Bushfire Recovery Victoria, Chair of Ambulance Victoria’s Board of Directors, Chair of the Victoria Institute of Forensic Mental Health Board of Directors and a non-Executive Director of the Essendon Football Club. He is also a member of the Monash University Accident Research Advisory Board. He advises Government at both a Commonwealth and State level across a number of policy areas.

In November 2017, Ken was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria. He is also an Officer of the Order of Australia and an Australian Police Medal recipient.

Catherine Scott

Catherine is a highly experienced Chairperson and Non-Executive Director who has held directorships across a portfolio of organisations in transport, water, education and natural resources. In her prior professional career, she held senior positions in the investment banking and finance industries.

She is Chair of Goulburn Valley Water, a Non-Executive Director of VicWater, a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee for the Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator, and a Board Member of Goulburn Ovens TAFE.

Catherine Scott

Robin Stewart-Crompton

Robin is the Director of RSC Advising Pty Ltd and is a consultant in the fields of public administration, occupational health and safety, workers’ compensation and industrial relations. Previously, he was a senior Commonwealth public servant and a legal practitioner.