Engaging with industry

The NHVR connects and engages with the heavy vehicle industry on all aspects of our services and administration of the Heavy Vehicle National Law. We also seek to promote and support continuous safety improvements in industry through information, education and joint safety initiatives.

To better understand and resolve industry issues, the NHVR has established a dedicated industry reference forum and five industry operator groups to generate practical, workable solutions and identify opportunities for improvement in our customer service operations and the heavy vehicle regulatory framework.


Industry Reference Forum

Industry Reference Forum - Terms of reference (PDF, 91KB)

The Industry Reference Forum is the NHVR’s key advisory body, comprising high-level representation from across the heavy vehicle industry, as well as the NHVR Chief Executive and senior staff.

The role of the Industry Reference Forum is to assist the NHVR in driving the longer-term, strategic agenda for regulatory reform of Australia’s heavy vehicle industry. This forum has a direct link with our industry operator groups.

Membership of this forum is largely comprised of industry associations already established and active in advocating for their members.


Mathew Munro *Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Executive Director
Chair of Livestock IOG
Kym Foster Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) Director, Transport Policy kym.foster@alga.asn.au
John Pritchard Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) Director, Policy and Research john.pritchard@alga.asn.au
Michael Kilgariff Australian Logistics Council (ALC) Chief Executive and Managing Director Michael.kilgariff@austlogistics.com.au
Ben Maguire *Australian Trucking Association (ATA) Chief Executive ben.maguire@truck.net.au
Michael Apps Bus Industry Confederation (BIC) Executive Director appsm@bic.asn.au
Todd Hacking Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA) Chief Executive t.hacking@hvia.asn.au
Warren Clark National Road Transporters Association (NatRoad) CEO warren.clark@natroad.com.au
Scott Kompo-Harms National Farmers’ Federation (NFF) General Manager, Trade and Economics skompoharms@nff.org.au
Gary Mahon
Jan Pattison
*Queensland Trucking Association (QTA) CEO gary@qta.com.au
Steve Shearer *South Australian Road Transport Association (SARTA) Executive Director steves@sarta.org.au
Peter Anderson *Victorian Transport Association (VTA) Chief Executive peter@vta.com.au
Zachary Whale Agforce Chair of NHVR Agricultural IOG WhaleZ@agforceqld.org.au
Brandon Hitch Crane Industry Council of Australia (CICA) CEO
Chair of Crane IOG
Julie Russell Russell Transport Director, Support Services
Chair of OSOM IOG
Pip Spence Australian Government - Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Deputy Secretary Pip.spence@infrastructure.gov.au
Mike Keating Australia New Zealand Police Advisory Agency (ANZPAA) Assistant Commissioner – Qld Police Keating.mike@police.qld.gov.au
Tony Hopkins National Road Freighters Association Inc. (NRFA) National President Tony.h@hopkinsbros.com.au
Chris Melham Civil Contractors Federation (CCF) Chief Executive Officer chrismelham@civilcontractors.com
Peter Biagini Transport Workers Union (TWU) – Qld Branch Qld Secretary peter.biagini@twuqld.asn.au
Simon O’Hara Road Freight NSW General Manager Simon.ohara@rfnsw.com.au
Louise Bilato *Northern Territory Road Transport Association (NTRTA) Executive Officer ntrta@iinet.net.au
Cam Dumesny *Western Roads Federation Executive Officer cam.dumesny@westernroads.com.au
Michelle Harwood *Tasmanian Transport Association (TTA) Executive Director ed@tta.org.au

*Member Association of ATA

The five dedicated operator groups for agricultural, crane, livestock and rural transporters, oversize/overmass, and safety management systems and technology meet regularly to discuss issues and concerns specific to that sector.


Agricultural Industry Operators Group


Wayne Newton AgForce Grains President wayne_newton@bigpond.com
Zachary Whale AgForce Queensland Grains Policy Director
Chair Agricultural IOG
John McKew Australian Fodder Industry Association (AFIA) Chief Executive Officer john@afia.org.au
Burn Ashburner
Dan Galligan
Canegrowers Senior Manager - Industry Burn_Ashburner@canegrowers.com.au
Michael Murray Cotton Australia National Water Policy Manager, Queensland Policy Manager michaelm@cotton.org.au
John Darby Grain Handlers Association Queensland Representative darbsrally@hotmail.com
Scott Kompo-Harms National Farmers Federation (NFF) CEO SKompoHarms@nff.org.au
David Mailler NSW Farmers Executive Councillor - Region 2 davemailler@bigpond.com
Isabella McDougall NSW Farmers Policy Advisor mcdougalli@nswfarmers.org.au
Lionel Wieck Peanut Company Australia (PCA) Grower Relationships lwieck@pca.com.au
Rob Kerin Primary Producers South Australia (PPSA) Chief Executive robkerin@ymail.com
Stephen Sheridan Victorian Farmers Federation Grains Group Manager ssheridan@VFF.org.au

Crane Industry Operators Group

This industry operators group is a partnership between the NHVR, the Crane Industry Council of Australia (CICA) and state associations.


Rodger Weste Aztek Analysis Chairman - CICA SA
Project Manager - Aztek Analysis
Steve Gonano Burpengary Crane Hire Chairman - CICA Qld
Owner - Burpengary Crane Hire
Brandon Hitch CICA (National) CEO
Chair Crane IOG
Alice Edwards CICA (National) - Vic Engineer projeng@cica.com.au
John Humphries CICA VIC/Tas Branch Liaison Officer john@cica.com.au
Chris Kolodziej Cranes Combined Owner - Cranes Combined chris@cranescombined.com.au
John Gillespie Gillespie Cranes CICA Board Member and Past President
Managing Director - Gillespie Cranes
Geoff Bevan Hydralift Cranes CICA Board Member
Owner - Hydralift Cranes
Paul Neylan LCR Group CICA Qld Executive
Project Manager - LCR Group
Barry Stockdale PD Cranes CICA VIC/TAS Executive
Owner - PD Cranes
Owner - Hydralift Cranes
Cheryl Woodhart RMB Service Group CICA Board Member
General Manager - Cranes
Project Manager - Aztek Analysis
Danny Black Terex Australia CICA Board President
General Manager - Terex Cranes
Managing Director - Gillespie Cranes
Glenn Howden Terex Cranes Sales Manager glenn.howden@terex.com
Paul Churchill Turner Central Cranes Chairman - CICA NSW paulchur@bigpond.net.au

Livestock and Rural Transporters Industry Operators Group

This industry operators group is a partnership between the NHVR, the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) and state associations.

Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Guide for Safe Design of Livestock Loading Ramps and Forcing Yards


Kevin Keenan Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) President
Chair of NHVR Livestock IOG
Scott McDonald Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) National Vice President scott.mcdonald1@hotmail.com
Mathew Munro Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Executive Director office@alrta.org.au
Ian Wild
Fiona Wild
Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of Qld President wildslivestock@bigpond.com
David Smith Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of SA President david@smithhaulage.com.au
Stephen Marley Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of WA President stephen@marleys.com.au
Spencer Griggs Livestock Transporters Association of Tasmania President Spencer.griggs01@bigpond.com
Graeme Howell Livestock Transporters Association of Victoria President howelllivestock@bigpond.com
Lynley Miners Livestock, Bulk and Rural Carriers Association - NSW President lynann@iinet.net.au
Louise Bilato Northern Territory Road Transport Association (NTRTA) Executive Officer ntrta@iinet.net.au

Oversize/Overmass Industry Operators Group


Daryl Hogan Andy’s Earth Moving Rental Manager daryl.hogan@andysem.com.au
Nick Simpson L. Arthur Pty Ltd HH Ops Controller nicks@larthur.com.au
Robert Aitchison Mactrans Heavy Haulage HSE/Permits robert@mactransheavyhaulage.com.au
Cliff Fraser
Jack Brooks
Chris Barnett
National Pilot Vehicle Drivers Association (NPVDA) President
Dion Le Grove Overdimensional Lift & Shift Pty Ltd Permit Officer dion.legrove@odls.com.au
Jan Pattison Queensland Trucking Association (QTA) Heavy Vehicle Law and Policy Consultant jan@qta.com.au
Jonathan Harding RL Harding Chief Executive Jonathan@rlharding.com.au
Julie Russell Russell Transport Director of Support Services - Russell Transport
Ken Russell Russell Transport Director kbt@russelltpt.com.au
Steve Ryan Tasmanian Heavy Haulage Tasmanian Heavy Haulage Steve.ryan@tasmanianhh.com.au
Graham Ellercamp TransTrac Australia Heavy Haulage Manager GrahamE@daracon.com.au

Technical Working Group

Technical Working Group - Terms of reference (PDF, 445KB)

Meeting 1

Dr Peter Hart Australian Road Transport Suppliers Association (ARTSA) Chairperson
Chris Loose Australian Trucking Association (ATA) Senior Advisor, Engineering
Phillip Hodges Commercial Vehicle Industry Association of Australia (CVIAA) Chairperson
Mark Hester Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Section Head
Greg Forbes Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA) National Manager, Government Relations and Policy
Mark Hammond Truck Industry Council (TIC) Chief Technical Officer

If you belong to an association, you’re encouraged to raise any concerns or pass feedback through your representative. Alternatively, you may wish to contact the NHVR’s Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement, John Gilbert, to discuss your concerns or suggestions for improvement.

John Gilbert, OAM
Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement
Email: john.gilbert@nhvr.gov.au
Phone: 07 3309 8576
Mobile: 0423 550 233