Engaging with industry

We connect and engage with the heavy vehicle industry on all aspects of our services and administration of the Heavy Vehicle National Law.

To better understand and resolve industry issues, the NHVR has established a dedicated industry reference forum and five industry operator groups to generate practical, workable solutions and identify opportunities for improvement in our customer service operations and the heavy vehicle regulatory framework.

NHVR Industry Operator Groups

The NHVR has established five dedicated operator groups for the agricultural, crane, livestock and rural transporters, oversize/overmass, and safety management systems and technology sectors. These industry operator groups meet regularly to discuss issues and concerns specific to that sector.

If you belong to an association, you’re encouraged to raise any concerns or pass feedback through your representative. Alternatively, you may wish to contact the NHVR’s Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement, John Gilbert, to discuss your concerns or suggestions for improvement.

John Gilbert, OAM
Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement
Email: john.gilbert@nhvr.gov.au
Phone: 07 3309 8576
Mobile: 0423 550 233

NHVR Industry Reference Forum

The NHVR Industry Reference Forum is the Regulator’s key advisory body, comprising high-level representation from across the heavy vehicle industry, as well as the NHVR Chief Executive and senior staff.

The role of the Industry Reference Forum is to assist the NHVR in driving the longer-term, strategic agenda for regulatory reform of Australia’s heavy vehicle industry. This forum has a direct link with our four industry operators groups.

Membership of this group is largely comprised of industry associations already established and active in advocating for their members.

Communiques

NameOrganisationPositionContact
Mathew Munro Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Chair of Livestock IOG Executive Director Mathew@alrta.org.au
John Pritchard Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) Executive Director, Policy and Research john.pritchard@alga.asn.au
Michael Kilgariff Australian Logistics Council (ALC) Chief Executive and Managing Director Michael.kilgariff@austlogistics.com.au
Bill McKinley Australian Trucking Association (ATA) Proxy until replacement advised bill.mckinley@truck.net.au
Michael Apps Bus Industry Confederation (BIC) Executive Director appsm@bic.asn.au
Brett Wright Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA) Chief Executive b.wright@hvia.asn.au
Warren Clark National Road Transporters Association (NatRoad) CEO warren.clark@natroad.com.au
Tony Mahar National Farmers' Federation (NFF) CEO tmahar@nff.org.au
Gary Mahon Queensland Trucking Association (QTA) CEO gary@qta.com.au
Steve Shearer South Australian Road Transport Association (SARTA) Executive Director steves@sarta.org.au
Peter Anderson Victorian Transport Association (VTA) Chief Executive peter@vta.com.au
Zachary Whale Representative of the NHVR Agricultural Industry Operators Group   WhaleZ@agforceqld.org.au
Brandon Hitch Crane Industry Council of Australia
Chair the NHVR Crane IOG
CEO ceo@cica.com.au
Julie Russell

Russell Transport
Chair of the NHVR OSOM IOG

Director, Support Services jar@russelltpt.com.au
Judith Zielke Australian Government - Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Deputy Secretary Judith.Zielke@infrastructure.gov.au

Back to top

NHVR Agricultural Industry Operators Group

Communiques

NameOrganisationPositionContact
Wayne Newton AgForce Grains President wayne_newton@bigpond.com
Zachary Whale AgForce Queensland Grains Policy Director WhaleZ@agforceqld.org.au
John McKew Australian Fodder Industry Association (AFIA) Chief Executive Officer john@afia.org.au
Burn Ashburner Canegrowers Senior Manager - Industry Burn_Ashburner@canegrowers.com.au
Michael Murray Cotton Growers National Water Policy Manager, Queensland Policy Manager michaelm@cotton.org.au
John Darby Grain Handlers Association Queensland Representative darbsrally@hotmail.com
Tony Mahar National Farmers Federation (NFF) General Manager Policy tmahar@nff.org.au
Charlie Cull NSW Farmers Federation Senior Policy Advisor cullc@nswfarmers.org.au
Dr Jamie Lovell NSW Farmers Federation Policy Director lovellj@nswfarmers.org.au
David Mailler NSW Farmers Federation Executive Councillor - Region 2 davemailler@bigpond.com
Lionel Wieck Peanut Company Australia (PCA) Grower Relationships lwieck@pca.com.au
Rob Kerin Primary Producers South Australia (PPSA) Chief Executive robkerin@ymail.com
Stephen Sheridan Victorian Farmers Federation Grains Group Manager ssheridan@VFF.org.au

Back to top

NHVR Crane Industry Operators Group

This industry operators group is a partnership between the NHVR, the Crane Industry Council of Australia (CICA) and state associations.

Communiques

NameOrganisationPositionContact
Rodger Weste Aztek Analysis Chairman - CICA SA
Project Manager - Aztek Analysis
rweste@wga.com.au
Steve Gonano Burpengary Crane Hire Chairman - CICA Qld
Owner - Burpengary Crane Hire
sgonano@tpg.com.au
Brandon Hitch CICA (National) CEO brandon@cica.com.au
John Humphries CICA VIC/Tas Branch Liaison Officer john@cica.com.au
Chris Kolodziej Cranes Combined Owner - Cranes Combined chris@cranescombined.com.au
Paul Churchill DJ Adair Cranes Chairman - CICA NSW
Operations Manager - DJ Adair Cranes
paulchur@bigpond.net.au
John Gillespie Gillespie Cranes CICA Board Member and Past President - CICA
Managing Director - Gillespie Cranes
john@gillespiecranes.com.au
Geoff Bevan Hydralift Cranes CICA Board Member
Owner - Hydralift Cranes
gdbevan@bigpond.net.au
Paul Neylan LCR Group CICA Qld Executive
Project Manager - LCR Group
pneylan@lcrgroup.com.au
Barry Stockdale PD Cranes CICA VIC/TAS Executive
Owner - PD Cranes
barry@pdcranes.com.au
Cheryl Woodhart RMB Service Group CICA Board Member
General Manager - Cranes
Cheryl@rmbservicegroup.com.au
Danny Black Terex Australia CICA Board President
General Manager - Terex Cranes
danny.black@terex.com
Glenn Howden Terex Cranes Sales Manager glenn.howden@terex.com

Back to top

NHVR Livestock and Rural Transporters Industry Operators Group

This industry operators group is a partnership between the NHVR, the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) and state associations.

Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Guide for Safe Design of Livestock Loading Ramps and Forcing Yards

Communiques

NameOrganisationPositionContact
Graeme Hoare Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) National Vice President ghoare@martinshaulage.com.au
Mat Munro Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Executive Director office@alrta.org.au
Kevin Keenan Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) President
Chair of NHVR Livestock IOG
kkeenan@bigpond.net.au
Lynley Miners Livestock and Bulk Carriers Association - NSW President lynann@iinet.net.au
Ian Wild Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of Qld President wildslivestock@bigpond.com
David Smith Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of SA President david@smithhaulage.com.au
Stephen Marley Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of WA President stephen@marleys.com.au
Spencer Griggs Livestock Transporters Association of Tasmania President Spencer.griggs01@bigpond.com
Mick Debenham Livestock Transporters Association of Victoria President office@lrtav.com.au
barrymichelle@dcsi.net.au
Louise Bilato Northern Territory Road Transport Association (NTRTA) Executive Officer ntrta@iinet.net.au

Back to top

NHVR Oversize/Overmass Industry Operators Group

Communiques

NameOrganisationPositionContact
Daryl Hogan Andy’s Earth Moving Rental Manager daryl.hogan@andysem.com.au
Nick Simpson L. Arthur Pty Ltd HH Ops Controller nicks@larthur.com.au
Cliff Fraser
Jack Brooks
Chris Barnett

National Pilot Vehicle Drivers Association (NPVDA)

President
 
 
president@npvda.org.au
jack.brooks@bigpond.com
stokerchris101@gmail.com
Dion Le Grove Overdimensional Lift & Shift Pty Ltd Permit Officer dion.legrove@odls.com.au
Jan Pattison Queensland Trucking Association (QTA) Heavy Vehicle Law and Policy Consultant jan@qta.com.au
Jonathan Harding RL Harding Chief Executive Jonathan@rlharding.com.au
Julie Russell Russell Transport Director of Support Services - Russell Transport
Chair of NHVR OSOM IOG
jar@russelltpt.com.au
Ken Russell Russell Transport Director kbt@russelltpt.com.au
Steve Ryan Tasmanian Heavy Haulage Tasmanian Heavy Haulage Steve.ryan@tasmanianhh.com.au
Graham Ellercamp TransTrac Australia Heavy Haulage Manager GrahamE@daracon.com.au

Back to top

Technical Working Group (TWG)

TWG Terms of reference (PDF, 445KB)

Meeting 1

NameOrganisationPosition
Dr Peter Hart Australian Road Transport Suppliers Association (ARTSA) Chairperson
Chris Loose Australian Trucking Association (ATA) Senior Advisor, Engineering
Phillip Hodges Commercial Vehicle Industry Association of Australia (CVIAA) Chairperson
Mark Hester Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Section Head
Greg Forbes Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA) National Manager, Government Relations and Policy
Mark Hammond Truck Industry Council (TIC) Chief Technical Officer

Back to top