PBS Certifiers

PBS Certifiers are highly experienced, competent and suitably qualified tradespeople or engineers. They are responsible for a crucial step in the PBS approval process, inspecting vehicles to confirm the built vehicle meets the design requirements specified in the Design Approval issued by the NHVR.

Once the PBS Certifier has determined that the built vehicle complies with the requirements detailed in the Design Approval, they may apply to the NHVR for a Vehicle Approval to be issued.

PBS Certifiers must be appointed by the NHVR and are bound by the PBS Vehicle Certification Rules - April 2019 (PDF, 784KB)

On this page:

List of current PBS Certifiers

Business Name Contact Details Address
ADR Compliance Services

Peter Gillard
peter@adrcompliance.com.au
0412 546 825

N/A
Bisitecniks Pty Ltd
VIC/NSW/QLD

Callum Boyce
Ph: (03) 5339 6777
callumb@bisi.com.au

John Crawley
Ph: (03) 5339 6777
jcrawley@bisi.com.au

Keith Mackinlay
Ph: (03) 5339 6777
keithm@bisi.com.au

N/A
BTT Engineering

Eddie van den Berg
eddie@bttengineering.com.au
M: 0407 930 542

2/104 Elizabeth Street
Launceston TAS 7250
PO Box 21
Kings Meadows TAS 7249
Comptune Engineering Bradley Aiken
Ph: 1300 527 227
M: 0421 137 477
bradley@comptune.com.au
2/51 Anderson Rd
Smeaton Grange NSW 2567
DMZ Engineering
Australia-wide

Dean Zatkoski
Ph: (03) 9715 2707
M: 0401 411 557
dean@dmzengineering.net

7/326 Settlement Road
Thomastown VIC 3074
K.D. Cowell & Associates
QLD/NSW/TAS/VIC/WA

Ken Cowell
ken@kdcowellassoc.com.au
Ph: (02) 9457 7100
M: 0411 264 781

11/12 Yatala Road
Mount Kuring-Gai NSW 2080
Kenndel Pty Ltd

Ken Stirling
M: 0408 790 266
ken@kenndel.com.au

323 Zingelmann Road
Woolooman Qld 4310
Marloc Engineering

Mario Larocca
M: 0429 993 400
mario@marlocengineering.com

N/A
Nebcoh Pty Ltd

Neville Fuller
Ph: 0433 966 177
Neville@nebcoh.com.au

N/A
O'Brien Traffic

Peter Eady
peter@obrientraffic.com
Ph: (03) 9804 3610 (ext. 114)
M: 0419 489 777

Philip Roper
philip@obrientraffic.com
Ph: (03) 9804 3610 (ext. 111)
M: 0419 354 778

Suite 2.03, 789 Toorak Road
Hawthorn East, VIC, 3123
Prain Consulting Pty Ltd

Ph: (03) 9791 5063
Fax: (03) 9794 9599

Unit 2, 1 Monterey road
Dandenong South Victoria 3175
Smart Heavy Vehicle Certifications

Jagdeep Singh
jsingh@shvc.com.au
M: 0469 747 283

www.shvc.com.au

Smedley's Engineers
Australia-Wide

 

www.smedleys.co

enquiries@smedleys.co
(03) 9421 6697

Robert JG Smedley
robert@smedleys.co
M: 0422 920 980

Bob Wright
bob.wright@smedleys.co
M: 0406 169 367

Dean Abram
dean.abram@smedleys.co
M: 0403 452 046

David Clark
david.clark@smedleys.co
M: 0499 999 112

Jackson Heil
jackson.heil@smedleys.co 
M: 0419 296 499

Victoria
108-110 Highett Street
Richmond VIC 3121
(03) 9421 6697
enquiries@smedleys.co

New South Wales
Wetherill Park NSW 2164
(02) 9683 2266
enquiries@smedleys.co

Queensland
Teneriffe QLD 4006
(07) 3257 7720
enquiries@smedleys.co

TEC National Pty Ltd
South Australia

Keith Pick
Ph: (08) 8339 4080
M: 0414 556 345
tecnat@adam.com.au

N/A
Tiger Spider Brendan Coleman
Brendan.Coleman@tigerspider.com.au
Ph: (03) 9537 1027
M: 0427 940 799
106/181 St. Kilda Road
St. Kilda VIC 3182
https://tigerspider.com.au/
Transport Certification Services
Australia-wide

Vedran Lerman
Ph: (03) 9753 5200
M: 0408 103 163
info@transportengineer.com

Jarrod Thompson
Ph: (03) 9753 5200
M: 0459 240 752
info@transportengineer.com

Factory 14/69 Acacia Road
Ferntree Gully, VIC 3156
Transport Engineering and Management Pty Ltd

Kym Bowden
Ph: (08) 8342 5999
Fax: (08) 8311 1700
kym@team.net.au

Bob Edwards
Ph: (08) 8342 5999
bob@team.net.au

58 Alpha Road
Prospect SA 5082
Truck Engineering Australia

Greg Findlater
Ph: (07) 3390 3588
gregfindlater@truckengineering.com.au

Ryan Krynauw
Ph: (07) 3390 3588
ryankrynauw@truckengineering.com.au

Unit 14, 42 Smith Street
Capalaba QLD 4157
www.truckengineering.com.au
Walsh Engineering Services

info@walsheng.com.au
Ph: (07) 4634 3344

Dan Walsh
dan@walsheng.com.au
M: 0408 784 625

Toowoomba Qld 4350

Seventeen Mile Rocks QLD 4073

How to become a PBS Certifier

Before completing the PBS Certifier Application form, applicants should ensure they meet the relevant suitability requirements including, qualifications and experience, eligibility and insurance considerations.

The application

Ensure all details in the application form are completed and the following supporting documents are attached:

  • Copies of relevant qualifications
  • CV showing heavy vehicle experience
  • A criminal history check (Police Name Check)

A Police Name Check can be obtained from the Police Identity Unit in the state or territory that the applicant lives. In some jurisdictions this is available as an online service.

Forward the completed application form by email to pbs@nhvr.gov.au, including "PBS Certifier application" in the subject line.

Qualifications and experience required

A mechanical trade qualification, or a mechanical engineering qualification, acceptable for associate membership of Engineers Australia (IEAust) is required to become a PBS Certifier.

Additionally, applicants must have 5 years of recent practical experience relevant to heavy vehicle design, inspection, maintenance or modification. Engineers eligible for professional membership of IEAust, may apply to be appointed as a PBS Certifier with 3 years of experience. 

PBS Certifiers are also required to have good mathematical and reasoning skills, and good written communication skills.

The assessment process

Once an application has been received, an initial suitability assessment will be conducted by the NHVR.

Only applicants that meet the minimum qualifications, experience and character requirements will be considered for further assessment.

Once initial suitability is established the assessment process includes:

  • an assignment intended to test the applicant’s understanding of the PBS Scheme and responsibilities as a PBS Certifier, including the ability to complete certification documentation.
    NOTE: Some questions are technical in nature and will require a good understanding of the PBS Scheme Vehicle Certification Rules;
  • an in-person interview
  • review of application and assessment results by the PBS Review Panel.

Being appointed as a PBS Certifier

When an application is approved, the applicant is encouraged to obtain the required insurance. Once this requirement has been met, the NHVR will invite the applicant to enter into a PBS Certifier Agreement for a period of up to five years.

A template PBS Certifier Agreement can be found in Appendix A of the PBS Vehicle Certification Rules.

Insurance required

PBS Certifiers are required to have the following minimum insurance:

  • $5 million professional indemnity insurance
  • $10 million public liability insurance.

Insurance policies do not need to commence until the PBS Certifier Agreement with NHVR has been completed.

More information about insurance is available in the PBS Vehicle Certification Rules.

Renewing a PBS Certifier Appointment

When a PBS Certifier’s agreement is approaching its expiry date, they will need to apply to the NHVR to renew their agreement. Applications for renewal can be made by emailing the PBS team at pbs@nhvr.gov.au

When applying to renew a PBS Certifier Agreement, the applicant must:

  • include ‘PBS Certifier Renewal’ in the subject line
  • provide their PBS Certifier number and all other details relevant to the new PBS Certifier Agreement
  • where a person’s criminal history has changed since their initial application or last renewal – provide a criminal history check (Police Name Check) issued within 60 days of their renewal application; and
  • provide copies of their insurance policies.

PBS Certifiers are advised to submit their renewal application at least 2 months prior to expiry. By doing this, PBS Certifiers may continue to certify PBS vehicles past the expiry of their appointment and until their new agreement is in place. Where a renewal application is received less than 2 months prior to expiry, PBS Certifiers may only conduct inspections up to the expiry of their appointment and may only recommence once a new agreement has been made.