Industry Reference Forum

To better understand and resolve industry issues, the NHVR established a dedicated industry reference forum and five industry operator groups to generate practical, workable solutions and identify opportunities for improvement in our customer service operations and the heavy vehicle regulatory framework.

The Industry Reference Forum is the NHVR’s key advisory body, comprising high-level representation from across the heavy vehicle industry, as well as the NHVR Chief Executive and senior staff.

The role of the Industry Reference Forum is to assist the NHVR in driving the longer-term, strategic agenda for regulatory reform of Australia’s heavy vehicle industry. This forum has a direct link with our industry operator groups (IOGs) who meet regularly to discuss issues and concerns specific to that sector.

Terms of Reference

Communiques

Membership

Membership of this forum is largely comprised of industry associations already established and active in advocating for their members.

Name Organisation Position Contact
*Member Association of ATA
Mathew Munro *Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Executive Director
Chair of Livestock IOG
Mathew@alrta.org.au
Kym Foster Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) Director, Transport Policy kym.foster@alga.asn.au
Roslyn Chivers Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) Director, Policy and Research Roslyn.chivers@alga.asn.au
Lachlan Benson Australian Logistics Council (ALC) Interim CEO Lachlan.benson@austlogistics.com.au
Ben Maguire *Australian Trucking Association (ATA) Chief Executive ben.maguire@truck.net.au
Michael Apps Bus Industry Confederation (BIC) Executive Director appsm@bic.asn.au
Todd Hacking Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA) Chief Executive t.hacking@hvia.asn.au
Warren Clark National Road Transporters Association (NatRoad) CEO warren.clark@natroad.com.au
Prudence Gordon National Farmers’ Federation (NFF) General Manager, Trade and Economics pgordon@nff.org.au
Gary Mahon
Jan Pattison
*Queensland Trucking Association (QTA) CEO gary@qta.com.au
jan@qta.com.au
Steve Shearer *South Australian Road Transport Association (SARTA) Executive Director steves@sarta.org.au
Peter Anderson *Victorian Transport Association (VTA) Chief Executive peter@vta.com.au
peter.anderson@vta.com.au
Zachary Whale Agforce Chair of NHVR Agricultural IOG WhaleZ@agforceqld.org.au
Brandon Hitch Crane Industry Council of Australia (CICA) CEO
Chair of Crane IOG
ceo@cica.com.au
Brandon@cica.com.au
Julie Russell Russell Transport Director, Support Services
Chair of OSOM IOG
jar@russelltpt.com.au
Pip Spence Australian Government - Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Deputy Secretary Pip.spence@infrastructure.gov.au
Mike Keating Australia New Zealand Police Advisory Agency (ANZPAA) Assistant Commissioner – Qld Police Keating.mike@police.qld.gov.au
Tony Hopkins National Road Freighters Association Inc. (NRFA) National President Tony.h@hopkinsbros.com.au
glenmorehomestead@bigpond.com.au
Chris Melham Civil Contractors Federation (CCF) Chief Executive Officer chrismelham@civilcontractors.com
Peter Biagini Transport Workers Union (TWU) – Qld Branch Qld Secretary peter.biagini@twuqld.asn.au
Simon O’Hara Road Freight NSW General Manager Simon.ohara@rfnsw.com.au
Louise Bilato *Northern Territory Road Transport Association (NTRTA) Executive Officer ntrta@iinet.net.au
Cam Dumesny *Western Roads Federation Executive Officer cam.dumesny@westernroads.com.au
Michelle Harwood *Tasmanian Transport Association (TTA) Executive Director ed@tta.org.au

Feedback

If you belong to an association, you’re encouraged to raise any concerns or pass feedback through your representative. Alternatively, you may wish to contact the NHVR’s Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement, John Gilbert, to discuss your concerns or suggestions for improvement.

John Gilbert, OAM
Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement
Email: john.gilbert@nhvr.gov.au
Phone: 07 3309 8576
Mobile: 0423 550 233