Industry Reference Forum

To better understand and resolve industry issues, the NHVR established a dedicated industry reference forum and six industry operator groups to generate practical, workable solutions and identify opportunities for improvement in our customer service operations and the heavy vehicle regulatory framework.

The Industry Reference Forum is the NHVR’s key advisory body, comprising high-level representation from across the heavy vehicle industry, as well as the NHVR Chief Executive and senior staff.

The role of the Industry Reference Forum is to assist the NHVR in driving the longer-term, strategic agenda for regulatory reform of Australia’s heavy vehicle industry.

Terms of Reference


State Working Groups


Membership of this forum is largely comprised of industry associations already established and active in advocating for their members.

Name Organisation Position
*Member Association of ATA
Mathew Munro Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA)* Executive Director
Kym Foster Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) Director, Transport Policy
Roslyn Chivers Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) Director, Policy and Research
Kirk Coningham OAM Australian Logistics Council (ALC) CEO
Ben Maguire Australian Trucking Association (ATA)* Chief Executive
Wayne Patch Bus Industry Confederation (BIC) Chairman
Todd Hacking Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA) Chief Executive
Warren Clark National Road Transport Association (NatRoad) CEO
Prudence Gordon National Farmers’ Federation (NFF) General Manager, Trade and Economics
Gary Mahon
Jan Pattison
Queensland Trucking Association (QTA)* CEO
Steve Shearer South Australian Road Transport Association (SARTA)* Executive Director
Peter Anderson Victorian Transport Association (VTA)* Chief Executive
Zachary Whale Agforce Chair of NHVR Agricultural IOG
Brandon Hitch Crane Industry Council of Australia (CICA) CEO
Chair of Crane IOG
Nick Simpson L.Arthur Machinery Operations Controller
Chair of OSOM IOG
Pip Spence Australian Government - Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Deputy Secretary
Mike Keating Australia New Zealand Police Advisory Agency (ANZPAA) Assistant Commissioner – Qld Police
Tony Hopkins National Road Freighters Association Inc. (NRFA) National President
Chris Melham Civil Contractors Federation (CCF) Chief Executive Officer
Peter Biagini Transport Workers Union (TWU) – Qld Branch Qld Secretary
Simon O’Hara Road Freight NSW General Manager
Louise Bilato Northern Territory Road Transport Association (NTRTA)* Executive Officer
Cam Dumesny Western Roads Federation* Executive Officer
Michelle Harwood Tasmanian Transport Association (TTA)* Executive Director
Scott McDonald Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association (ALRTA) Livestock IOG Chair


If you belong to an association, you’re encouraged to raise any concerns or pass feedback through your representative. Alternatively, you may wish to contact the NHVR’s Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement, John Gilbert, to discuss your concerns or suggestions for improvement.

John Gilbert, OAM
Manager Industry Stakeholder Engagement
Phone: 07 3309 8576
Mobile: 0423 550 233