Accreditation modules

Heavy vehicle operators can apply for accreditation under the 3 National Heavy Vehicle Accreditation Scheme (NHVAS) modules:

  1. Mass Management
  2. Maintenance Management
  3. Fatigue Management (Basic or Advanced)

The following guides are an introduction to each module and summarise what operators need to do in order to qualify for accreditation and stay qualified.

Mass Management

Operators accredited in the Mass Management module can access additional mass concessions. These concessions allow vehicles to operate at Concessional Mass Limits (CML) for general access to the road network.

Maintenance Management

Operators accredited in the Maintenance Management module must maintain their vehicles and comply with all relevant road transport legislation. Some jurisdictions require annual inspections as part of the registration process, but grant exemptions to vehicles with maintenance management.

Fatigue Management

The Fatigue Management module includes two options, Basic Fatigue Management (BFM) and Advanced Fatigue Management (AFM).

Basic Fatigue Management (AFM) - Operators with BFM accreditation can operate under more flexible work and rest hours, allowing for (among other things) work of up to 14 hours in a 24-hour period. BFM gives operators some flexibility regarding when drivers can work and rest, if the risks of driver fatigue are properly managed.

Advanced Fatigue Management (AFM) - AFM brings a genuine risk management approach to managing heavy vehicle driver fatigue. Rather than prescribing work and rest hours, AFM offers more flexibility than standard hours or BFM in return for the operator demonstrating greater accountability for managing their drivers’ fatigue risks. For more information see Advanced Fatigue Management (AFM).